Skip to main content


What is an amphibian?

There are more than 6,000 species of amphibians living today. This animal class includes three groups: salamanders and newts; frogs and toads; and caecilians.



These are a few of the characteristics that define most amphibians.

  • Moist Skin

    Most amphibians have thin, moist skin that is permeable, allowing liquids and gases to pass through it easily.

  • Cold-blooded

    Amphibians are not able to control their internal body temperature.

  • Metamorphosis

    Most amphibians go through a dramatic transformation from youth to adulthood, which changes their body and diet.

  • Land and Water

    Most amphibians spend one stage of life in water and another stage on land.

Please note not all animals are viewable at all times.

Amphibians at the Zoo