Skip to main content

January 31, 2019

St. Louis Zoological Park Subdistrict Commission Elects Two New Commissioners

The St. Louis Zoological Park Subdistrict Commission elected two new officers at their meeting held on Sept. 20, 2018.
Will R. Ross

Will R. Ross, M.D., MPH, Associate Dean for Diversity and a Professor of Medicine at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, was elected to a four-year term on the Zoo Commission. Dr. Ross replaces Commissioner Stacy Edwards who served on the Zoo Commission for 12 years.

Chonda Nwamu

Chonda Nwamu, Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel for Ameren, was elected to fulfill the remainder (two years) of the term held by Commissioner F. Holmes Lamoreux. Lamoreux served on the Zoo Commission for seven years and will remain on the Zoo Commission as a Chair Emeritus.

The Zoo Commission is the governing authority for the Zoo. It has the fiduciary responsibility for the well-being of the Zoo, as well as the ultimate responsibility for fulfilling the Zoo's mission.

The current Zoo Commission listing is as follows:

Chairman: Winthrop B. Reed, III
Vice-Chair: Cynthia J. Brinkley
Treasurer: Lawrence E. Thomas
Immediate Past Chair: Jerald L. Kent


  • Karl A. Grice
  • Robert R. Hermann, Jr.
  • Chonda J. Nwamu
  • Robert F. O'Loughlin
  • Neal F. Perryman
  • Peggy A. Ritter
  • Steven C. Roberts
  • Will R. Ross, M.D., MPH
  • James G. Sansone
  • Carol A. Wilson

Emeritus Members:

  • Jay G. Henges
  • Robert R. Hermann
  • Joseph O. Losos

Chair Emeritus:

  • Honorable James F. Conway
  • F. Holmes Lamoreux
  • Steven F. Schankman
  • Mark J. Schnuck

Saint Louis Zoo 314/781-0900
Billy Brennan, 314/646-4633,
Christy Childs, 314/646-4639,
Mike De Pope, 314/646-4703,